Is it possible to create profiles of management of stations?
I.E : 20 stations are from office A , so only Department A can see and modify them. 35 stations are from Department B, 50 from Department C , etc
Can be used 1 loggernet version to do so? And make some profiles for different department to view and modify just their own stations? (no others) We now are running 4 instances of loggernet in different servers, the management of it sometimes its very annoying.
LoggerNet Admin has a feature that will let you create "subnets". Once these subnets are created, you can select a subnet to view or you can view the entire network.
LoggerNet Admin will also let you implement security, so that people must log in. They are given different access rights which can be applied at the station level (for instance, someone can be given rights to send a new program to a station, but they can't modify other stations).
Security does not apply to subnets. If someone can log in to LoggerNet, they will be able to see the full network or select a subnet. However, the station level security will prevent someone from modifying something they aren't suppose to.
Below, I have copied out of the LoggerNet help information on security.
There are five levels of security:
Read Only - The user can view data values and status information but has no other rights.
Operator - The user can view data values, check the clock, and collect data. He cannot make changes to the datalogger program, datalogger settings, or the server settings.
Station Manager - The user can view data values, check and set the clock, and collect data. The user can send programs to the datalogger and change datalogger settings. The user cannot make changes to the server.
Network Administrator - The user has full access rights in all LoggerNet clients, except the Security Manager.
Full Administrator - The user has full access rights in all LoggerNet clients, including the Security Manager.
If an option in the LoggerNet user interface is not applicable for the security level of the user logged in to LoggerNet, that option will be disabled. For more information on what is restricted for each security level, refer to the Security Access table (you'll have to go to the LoggerNet Admin Security Manager's help to read the info in this table.)